The Castle has guarded the harbour for 800 years. You can explore the battlements and enjoy breath-taking views towards the other islands. Four Museums, four period gardens, the refectory and our shop are all here to discover.
The Noon-day gun is fired daily throughout the season by keepers clad in scarlet costumes who will stay and pose for photos with you after every firing.
For more information visit the official webpage
CANDIE GARDENS & MUSEUM
Guernsey Museum is set amidst this late 19th century pleasure garden on the outskirts of St Peter Port.
These historic gardens were established in 1894 in the grounds of Candie House and offer excellent panoramic views over the rooftops of St. Peter Port to the neighbouring islands. The Lower Gardens were refurbished in 1998-99 and are a rare surviving example of a Victorian Public Flower Garden. One of Candie’s restored historic greenhouses, hosts the annual Nerine Festival each October.
Candie Gardens are situated 5 minutes’ walk from the Duke of Normandie. Admission to the Gardens is free and they are open from dawn to dusk. Users of wheelchairs and pushchairs should note that the Gardens include some steep paths.
For more information visit the official webpage.
VICTOR HUGO’S HOUSE
During his exile Hugo lived in Hauteville House, which has been preserved exactly as it was. Hugo’s abundant creativity is displayed in the astonishing richness of its decoration. As Charles Hugo put it, the house is “a veritable three-storey autograph, a poem in several rooms”.
For more information visit their webpage
The Fort is a Martello Tower built on a small tidal islet to defend Rocquaine Bay. It is known affectionately as the “Cup and Saucer”. It houses a shipwreck museum and offers spectacular views of the bay and the Hanois Lighthouse. More Information
The Little Chapel was a work of art and labour of love built by Brother Déodat, who started work in March 1914. His plan was to create a miniature version of the famous grotto and basilica at Lourdes in France. More Information